Search

10 Ways to Celebrate St. Patrick's Day During Quarantine

Updated: Mar 17

Stuck at home because of COVID-19 and worried you wont be able to celebrate St. Patrick's Day? This shouldn't stop you from celebrating! Check out these 10 things to do while in quarantine to enjoy with your family. Don't forget to wear green!


1. Live Stream the Dropkick Murphys Concert

The Dropkick Murphys came up with a kicking good idea, if we do say so ourselves. They are live streaming their 24th annual St. Patrick's Day weekend concert to everyone, all over the world. You can tune in on their YouTube, Instagram, or on Facebook Live.


They'll be performing live from Boston this Tuesday, March 17th, 7:00 pm East Coast Time, 4:00 pm West Coast Time, 11:00 pm London Time, 12:00 am Berlin Time, and 10:00 am Sydney Time.

2. Cook a Banoffee Pie

If you've got a sweet tooth, here's a recipe for the traditional Irish Banoffee Pie. It is made with toffee and condensed milk filling layered with fresh sliced bananas on a delicious biscuit crust. Learn how to make delicious treat here.

3. Make Lucky Charms™ Cereal Treats

Catch the Leprechaun's Lucky Charms™ Cereal box to create these easy to make marshmallow bites. This is a perfect way to celebrate St. Patricks Day, and enjoy a sweet treat! Find the recipe at the end of this rainbow.

4. Watch a Documentary on St. Patrick’s Day

Wondering how this celebration all started? Check out National Geographic's short video on why we celebrate March 17th. It explains who St. Patrick is, where it all started, why we wear green and more!

5. Play St. Patrick’s Day Games with Your Family

Want to get away from all electronic devices for a while? Try out these St. Patrick's Day themed games that you can enjoy at home while in quarantine. These are fun games that are easy to create with everyday supplies that you have at home. From "Roll a Rainbow" to "Catch a Leprechaun" you have 12 different games to choose from to occupy your time together.

6. Blend a Healthy Shamrock Shake

Craving sweets, but don't want to celebrate and crash? This delicious, yet healthy drink will make you feel like you are celebrating St. Patrick's Day all the way. It includes coconut milk, avocado, and fresh mint topped with dark chocolate shavings. Click here for the recipe.

7. Go Traditional! Bake an Irish Soda Bread

Irish soda bread is as traditional as you can get! This is a rustic and tender bread that goes perfectly with an Irish stew (which we will also give you the recipe for) as well as any other hearty St. Patrick's Day meal. This simple bread takes about 1 hour and 30 minutes to make but it is definitely worth the wait! Start kneading, click here.

8. Binge on Irish Movies

Time to relax and watch a good movie. How about Irish films?! Sit back, grab your popcorn and begin with any of these 25 'Best Irish Films'. From classics like "The Quiet Man" to a more modern "The Hole in the Ground", you can find an Irish movie that suits you here!

9. Make a Traditional Irish Stew

This mouth-watering stew is perfect for your St. Patrick's Day festivities! This stew is made with beef, garlic, stock, red wine, potatoes, carrots, onions and even Guinness beer! This pairs nicely with the Irish soda bread mentioned above. Breeze through dinner, with the how-to video included here.

10. Create a St. Patrick's Day Playlist

Add to your celebrations with an Irish jam session! Enjoy St. Patrick's Day playlists created for today.

But if you find yourself at work instead of celebrating, we are here for you 24/7. Reach us at (240) 306-3000.


I-rish you all a Happy St. Patrick's Day!

MESSAGE

We'd love to hear from you! What can we help you with today?

Build a relationship and subscribe to get 'News You Can Use'